Skip navigation

Now that the F1 fever has died down, yours truly (with absolutely no interest in cars and the entire mechanics of it) will confess: I enjoyed the inaugural Formula One night race.

Photobucket
An aunt passed over these Club Suite tickets for Sunday’s finals and because my dad was on a business trip, I was tasked to attend the event with mum.

Initially I indicated reluctance to sit through an entire race – like what’s the deal with cars whizzing pass with such intense velocity. The screeching tyres or the smell of burnt rubber? And working at the City Hall area probably had me biased – frigging F1 disrupted my bus route to work! What audacity!

Photobucket
Mother and I at the Draycott Suite.

Photobucket
I won’t say I’m a Formula One convert; I still sneer at our local drivers who believe they’re living their warped F1 dream when they attempt their drifting skills on our roads. But I probably understand the appeal of the race. The atmosphere that night was buzzing with excitement, and the air reeked of delicious anticipation and fanatic support. It was sensational watching these brightly coated cars of reds (Ferrari was the hot favourite that night, but we all know who won), yellows and greens. My mum joked these gorgeous cars looked just like toys.

Photobucket
On a related note, even the taxi uncle was caught up in the F1 furor. Colleagues who read this, the cabbie rammed right into the Singapore Art Museum! Oh the heritage-horror!

And thank goodness for the mid week holiday that’s Hari Raya. I found time to catch up on sleep and indulge in…
Photobucket
SCRABBLE! At Spinelli!

Ate too much this week after visiting Z, my cheong sam is bursting at its seams! Curse all the delicious kuehs drenched in sin!
Photobucket

These photos are a gem – how often are we clad in our respective ethnic garb? This is for the keeps 🙂

Leave a Reply

